Frequently Asked Questions

Where is your office?

My office is located at:

1000 Hart Road
Suite 130
Barrington, IL 60010

The closest cross streets are Northwest Highway and Hart Road. The office is on the west side of Hart Road. There is free parking in the front and back of the office building.

What are your hours?

My office hours are on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays:

Tuesday, 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM

Wednesday and Thursday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM

I provide telehealth and in-person sessions.

How long are your sessions?

My self-pay rate is $150.00 for 60 minutes. Insurance covers 50-minute sessions, and co-pays depend upon your insurance.

How much do you charge?
I charge $150 per hour.
Do you take insurance?
I accept BCBS and UnitedHealthcare.
How do I set up an appointment?

It’s easy! You can text, email, or call.

I do my best to accommodate an appointment within ten days.

What is your cancellation policy?

If you cancel within 24 hours of your appointment, there is a $75 cancellation fee.

If you cancel outside of the 24-hour cancellation, there is a $25 cancellation fee.

With whom do you work?

I work with adult women (ages 18 and up), couples, and seniors . My oldest client is 93!

What will we do during the first session?

The first session is called the “intake.” I’ll ask you about your background – your family of origin, upbringing, and history – to see what has brought you to the point of seeking counseling. We’ll also discuss your goals and what you’d like to accomplish.

Will I receive assignments between sessions?

Yes, I provide assignments (“homework”) at the end of each session. But they’re more “suggestions” for helping you work toward your goals when we’re not in session together.

What modalities do you use?
I use Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT) and Internal Family Systems (IFS).
What’s your professional training and experience?
I’ve been a social worker (with a concentration in medical social work) for 36 years. My concentration in the medical social work has been for the last decade. I started in in-patient psychiatry at the VA (Veterans Administration). I love working with veterans! I’ve also worked in hospitals on cardiac, renal, and oncology floors. I’m now a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) in private practice.
What does your “non-therapy” life look like?
I love tofu Thai curry and long nature walks. I am drawn to the water, whether that’s the ocean, waterfalls, a lake, or the water with bubbles in my fish tank with African cichlids. 😊